top of page

The Blue Coat

(Crafted summer 2019)

I just wanted to share quickly.


This coat is a bit of a collaboration. My husband's niece is a young cosplayer. When we went out to visit a couple of years ago she shared a new character she wanted to portray. She figured the jacket would need to be custom-made and cost a fortune, besides the other pieces in the ensemble. When I got to looking at it though I realized I already owned a pattern with the rounded tail, and the top was very similar to the old-time tailcoats.


Soon we were pouring through patterns online. I was able to show her the one I had and then we found one that adequately represented the jacket portion. Surely you could put this tail on the other jacket?!?!


It wasn't quite as easy as it sounded. It didn't help that she lived 1500 miles away so fittings were out of the question. Or that the pattern was designed for a man. Or that the tails were all one piece with the back so I had to figure out where to cut them off to add the other one. She sent me her measurements and we prayed.


And sometimes I said bad words.


I didn't charge her anything. I told her to put the money on those cool boots because those, we could not create ourselves.


In the end, it may have been just a bit roomy, and I knew she had to take up the sleeves. But I think it worked out ok and she did wear it to her con. It was great to see her smiling and hanging out with her friends.




0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page