top of page

Tinkering with Side Projects

(created May 2021)

This is a brief entry based, on a brief video, based on a kind of long week.


Of course, I cannot always be working on the big build because sometimes rain and things get in the way or I have to do mundane things like work, and cook, and make my bed and stuff.


In between times, there are smaller projects I sometimes get a chance to work on for both fun a necessity.


The first project was something I did on a cold morning waiting for the sun to warm up enough to get me motivated to go out. It's just a simple bone that used a rotary tool on in order to buff it up and then etch some ogham lettering on. A simple suede leather cord I had laying around and voila.


The second project was more slapped together for necessity's sake. I had been lugging a bucket around with my tools in it. They were banging around together all the time. Worse, every time I reached in to find some little thing I cut or gouged myself on a big thing. So I rounded up some scraps of leftover stuff from around here and whipped out a small wooden chest to lay my tools in nicely. Ever so much better. Now I just need to scavage some handles.


Lastly, I have been playing around with trying different fireplace/cooking configurations with some great bricks that were donated to me by my husband's good friend Jim. I would like to end up with two different units. One for inside that will produce little smoke and keep me cozy even here in Wisconsin. The other for outdoor summertime cooking and ambiance.


So far I don't have a design that's working for me. The rocket stove shone at the end is sort of a pain to feed and cleanout. Also, due to the sizing of my materials at hand, the tall side where one would has to be that tall. However, the height is too tall to comfortably cook on. The little mini fireplace is just that, a little fireplace, therefore it smokes like a fireplace and would still require a full chimney. Neither takes large enough fuel to not need constant feeding. At this point, I am better off with just a simple fire ring than with anything I have come up with so far. I have one more Idea I have researched and might have just enough resources to try it next.


When I get a minute.Because besides the build project, we are planning on getting baby chicks this weekend!


Stay tuned...






Recent Posts

See All

© 2023 by Name of Site. Proudly created with Wix.com

  • Turtle Shell Adventures
  • Turtle Shell Adventures
bottom of page