top of page

The Green Fairy

(Created 2/11/2020) This fairy is a bit different and has never left home. She started because I fell in love with the wig. I would wear wings every day if it wasn't so awkward at my age, so that part doesn't count (there is a less elaborate Pink Fairy that goes to my work for me on Halloween and fun things like that).

Trial run. The bodice is just pinned

I really don't remember why I was looking at wigs except wigs are fun, and it was Amazon, I was probably there for three days...


I have always loved costuming, make-believe, and frankly would dress like this every day if I could get away with it. I am almost old enough to not even care. I had also recently started LARPing and was really enjoying it and seemed to be pretty good at it. So as this character magically came together I started pondering the idea of being a professional fairy.


I have worked with kids on and off for years, from daycare to school to 4H. So why not combine the different elements? Hmmm...


The light made my wings disappear!

I started working on a game plan. How to arrange the party package, what activities I would offer, which characters (invite a princess, a fae, an elf, or a pioneer woman to your party), and what pricing. My real job is as a secretary in an insurance office so my boss got me a quote for that. I started a web page.



To be fair I had also prepared to travel, got my van set up for living in, starting thinking about where I wanted to go. But I didn't really have an agenda for that. It was fluid.


This kids party thing was only likely to be part-time at best in my rural area, and I could schedule things on my time so I figured I could combine them.

The Green Fairy
I love this picture so much! I feel happy!

And then Corona came. And everything changed. As it did for everyone.


So the website never went live. The insurance quote went unfulfilled. And this fairy was put in a box for a long sleep until another time.


But I still love this wig.

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page